What are the differences in eyeson Roles?

Hosts, Members and Guests

Introduction

As all tools vary in terms of their user descriptions, we've decided to provide you with an overview.

We also have a tutorial that you can watch.

As a collaboration tool, our roles do not differ that much from each other. Most functionalities are accessible for everyone, but there are slight differences, which are good to know.


Different roles on the licence level

Licence Holder (SaaS product)

When you buy a license to eyeson, you become a License Holder and can possess the license alone (Licence for 1 Host) or share it with other teammates (Team Licence). Teammates get free accounts from the License Holder, who purchased a package with more than one host. Essentially, The licence holder and all their teammates have the same rights and full access to all eyeson features. The only thing that distinguishes the licence holder from other hosts is the fact that he/she can manage their licences, deciding when to add or remove teammembers from their host list.

Attention! A License Holder, like any other host, won't see the rooms of other hosts unless the permanent room link was shared with them and they are now members of their teammates' rooms (see more information on this in the Room Roles section). 

Host

All people with active eyeson accounts are Hosts. Hosts can create as many rooms as they want. They can start calls, invite participants to meetings in advance or share an existing room with other hosts. Essentially, every host has a login to the eyeson platform and can use the same features, except that of the License Holder, who can additionally manage their licences

Attention! If your account is part of a team licence, you will only have your own login to the platform for as long as the License Holder keeps you on the host list.


Room Roles

It's important to know, from the room perspective, we distinguish between two different roles of hosts. Let's give you an example. 

Imagine you bought a license with more than one host and assigned other people to your license list. Now you want to create a room, here is how you can distinguish different peoples' roles: 

Owner (Host) of the Room

This is a user who created the room. He/she can start calls on their own and invite other people to share this room together (members). The room owner is the only one who can:

All the other rights are the same for room owner and members. They can always access the meeting history, where they can find shareable snapshots and recordings, and are notified in case someone starts a meeting in this room (if the notifications are activated in the account settings).

Member (Host) of the Room

This is a user with an active eyeson account who was invited by the owner to the room to share it. He/she can also start calls on their own without the room owner's participation and invite others to join the room or meetings in the room. Moreover, like the room owner, they are notified in case someone starts a meeting in this room (if the notifications are activated in the account settings), and they can always access the meeting history, where they can find shareable snapshots and recordings.

Attention! A member can be removed from the room by the owner at any time.

Now imagine Elijah Baggins created a room for a video meeting and invited other people to it, here is how the roles will look: 

roles


Video Call Roles

As soon as a meeting is started in a specific room, we don't differentiate between room owner and members anymore. They are all essentially hosts and have identical rights in the call. Here we only differentiate between host/member and guest.

Host / Members of the Call

Hosts who are the owner or members of the room can start video calls (as host of the meeting) and join video calls (as member of the meeting) in this room at any time and on their own. If they are not yet a room member, they need to be invited to this meeting with a link. All eyeson features (except the ones that have been been deactivated by the room owner for this room) will be available to them in the meeting. Hosts/Members also have right to:

Guest of the Call

A guest is someone who is currently not signed in to their eyeson account or who does not have an eyeson account. Guests can only join an eyeson meeting if they are invited by a host via a link. Joining an eyeson call as a guest is easy and quick. You do not need to sign in, and no dowload or installation is required. However, guests might need to wait until the meeting they have been invited to is started by the host, because they can not start meetigs on their own as they do not have access to rooms

Generally, guests have access to most of the features in a meeting, but some features are restricted to eyeson users:

  • Guests can not remove participants from a call
  • Guests can not lock a meeting
  • Guests can not end meetings for all
  • Guest can not access or download recordings of a meeting


Tutorial

Want to learn more? We've prepared a short video for you:

Need Support?

Should you have any comments, suggestions or questions, please do not hesitate to contact support@eyeson.com!